
AlooTechie wrote about BharatStudent.com claiming 1.4 million registered users in four months, but the comments sections brings out a completely different story.
The discussion starts with the huge number of features on BharatStudent.com and moves to it being a Orkut and Youtube mixture. However, eventually it moves to the loads of porn and spamming done by the site.
Concerned (has no address to mention), says
I know 100s of people who never registered, but received an email with their password. Since their registration form doesn’t send an activation email, they are free to bulk register anyone they want without their permission. Upon complaints, they deleted the account.
and Manoj confims
Bharatstudent has spammed orkut but the porn stuff you guys are talking is not there on BS.
. Jaleel points out to his own post on the Orkut spamming by BharatStudent.com, where he writes
-Most of those spam postings are by females with names such as Hema, Supriya etc..
-All the links are short links and resolve to only BharatStudent.Com. Why not to YouTube ? Why not to any of these Indian Video Sharing websites ?
-Someone posting this URL is doing it very intelligently. They don’t post a link that can be clicked, but a link such as “jesical.notlong.com” or “starturl.com/annakova” or “tinyurl.com/2lc232″. They ask to cut and paste in a new browser window. By doing so, they don’t get referral from Orkut. [Orkut and Google dislike anybody linking to Adult content by removing them from search engine index.] Thus BharatStudent spammers are posting non clickable links which are also being escaped from Google’s automated link parser thus preserving page rank.
.
However, it is also said that the ‘Options abroad section’ is quite informative, and on the whole the site does serve its purpose to quite an extent.
If you are a user of BharatStudent, do let me know if it’s true. And if people think that it is a problem…
Chetan’s post about Orkut Spamming | The original AlooTechie article | Bharat Student.com
Keep in touch with regular updates by subscribing to Gyaan Sutra.
UPDATE: Chetan, sorry for the error.

February 22nd, 2008 at 5:31 pm
gmail.com
very good site for world level
April 23rd, 2008 at 1:46 pm
Here is a refined version of BharatStudents.com:
http://www.go-abroad.net/study